What’s the problem with secrecy?

In one of my first posts (with a couple follow-ups), I noted that one of the reasons I was a liberal was that I distrust governments and big business but think I have slightly more influence on government. One of the reasons I have more influence with the government is that its operations are open (in theory at least) while corporate meetings are not–I can’t influence something I don’t know about. And this is why  the leaks by Bradley Manning and Edward Snowden are important, they have shown things that the US government is doing secretly. And we have discovered two things: the government has done things that the public might not support; the government has kept things secret that don’t need to be secret. And these are both reasons why government secrecy is anathema to a democracy–I can’t intelligently decide who to vote for if I don’t know what they’re doing.

Leave a Reply

