Roman Polanski doesn’t know

Via here (with other great comments), this is disturbingly surreal:

Roman Polanski says the birth control pill has had a “masculinizing” effect on women and that the leveling of the sexes is “idiotic”

The director made the comments Saturday at the Cannes Film Festival, where he came to premiere “Venus in Fur,” a film adapted from the David Ives play which stars Polanski’s wife and toys with the subject of gender.

Polanski said the pill has “changed the place of women in our times” while talking to reporters. He further lamented that “offering flowers to a lady” has become “indecent.”

I wouldn’t be surprised if that last bit had to do with this (Geimer was 13 at the time):

Geimer later agreed to a second session, which took place on March 10, 1977 at the home of actor Jack Nicholson in the Mulholland area of Los Angeles. “We did photos with me drinking champagne,” Geimer says. “Toward the end it got a little scary, and I realized he had other intentions and I knew I was not where I should be. I just didn’t quite know how to get myself out of there.” She recalled in a 2003 interview that she began to feel uncomfortable after he asked her to lie down on a bed, and how she attempted to resist. “I said, ‘No, no. I don’t want to go in there. No, I don’t want to do this. No!’, and then I didn’t know what else to do,” she stated, adding: “We were alone and I didn’t know what else would happen if I made a scene. So I was just scared, and after giving some resistance, I figured well, I guess I’ll get to come home after this”.

Geimer testified that Polanski gave her a combination of champagne and quaaludes, a sedative drug, and “despite her protests, he performed oral sex, intercourse and sodomy on her”, each time after being told ‘no’ and being asked to stop.

Whoever was interviewing him should have asked the follow-up question: Do you think drugging and then raping a 13-year-old is indecent?

Leave a Reply

