All of New England now allows same-sex marriage

Same-sex marriage was signed into law today in Rhode Island, so there are now 10 states and DC where it is legal–that includes all of New England. Add in New York, Maryland, and DC and you might notice that most of the northeast allows it and it’s allowed almost nowhere else (just Iowa and Washington). Internationally, there are now 12 countries that allow same-sex marriage or have voted it in (Argentina, Belgium, Canada, Denmark, Iceland, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Portugal, Spain, South Africa, and Sweden) and it is pending in other countries. It’s all pretty remarkable how fast this is moving considering that it was only in 2001 that the Netherlands became the first country to allow them and only in 2004 that Massachusetts became the first state.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Atticus
    May 02, 2013 @ 23:40:13

    It is just it’s time I guess. Same-Sex marriage has become socially acceptable and mainstream. As the population accepts it, the resistance will fade, and legality will follow.


  2. fredtopeka
    May 03, 2013 @ 10:39:07

    After a few more states there will probably be a lull, as there are many states that have constitutional amendments against same-sex marriage. Still, one can hope that things continue on as they have.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: