More gun data

Slate has a project where they are trying to gather together all the gun related deaths since Newtown. As they note, it’s pretty difficult to get this information so this is just an attempt to get an idea of the scale of the problem. I looked at some of the relations as I did before and I would guess that it is undercounting suicides, because I get a correlation of -.137 between the rate of gun deaths and the Brady campaign’s score for the states (I got a correlation of -.66 (although this was age adjusted) when I looked at the full set of data, but that broke down as -.05 when looking at assault and -.75 for suicide). Still, this is a good project–it’s always better to have more data.

Leave a Reply

