Religion in the US

What with all the talk of religious freedom lately, I’ve been thinking about how religion fits into the US. As an atheist/agnostic, I sometimes resent the extra rights that people get if they are religious, but I also believe that people should be free to follow any religion they want–in my mind these two balance each other. And I think that’s also true in the Constitution. The Constitution was approved through compromise, even the Bill of Rights came about because of a compromise.

I see that the Constitution¬†gives people who are religious special, extra, rights but in exchange it made the government secular (not directly, but in effect). It’s not a perfect compromise but it’s still a good balance and one I accept.

Of course, if people who are religious try to push religion into the government too much then I would have to rethink that position.

Leave a Reply

